Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of the Foundation has the ultimate responsibility for its management, including the awarding of grants and capital management.

The everyday work of the Foundation is led by the Executive Director, who is responsible for the academic management and review of applications. For the latter work, a number of external experts are called in. The Board of Directors decides which applications are to be awarded grants.

The Board:

Peter Wallenberg  Jr


Göran Sandberg

Executive director

Caroline Ankarcrona


Jacob Wallenberg


Marcus  Wallenberg 

Vice Chairman

Kåre Bremer

Director and Principals Council Representative

Michael Treschow



Principals Council

The Principals Council is able to follow the operations of the Foundation and present suggestions to facilitate the coordination between Foundation activities and Swedish academic research and education.

The Principals Council comprises: the Swedish Academy, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, the Royal Swedish Academy of History, Letters and Antiquities, the Royal Swedish Academy of Agriculture and Forestry, the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences, the universities of Uppsala, Lund, Gothenburg, Stockholm, Umeå, Luleå, and Linköping and the Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, the Karolinska Institutet, the Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm, Chalmers University of Technology, and the Stockholm School of Economics.

The Principals Council appoints one member of the Board of Directors and the Foundation’s auditor.